Nibali Wins Tirreno-Adriactico

Last updated : 13 March 2012 By Kev Monks

Vincenzo Nibali won the Tirreno-Adriactico this afternoon on a day when Fabian Cancellera won the final time trial.

The 47th edition of this race finished with a 9.3km at San Benedetto del Tronto on a lovely sunny day.

Garmin's David Millar (pictured below) finished the course in a time of 11.06 and was the early leader until Radio Shack Nissan's Daniele Bennati went through in 10:48 and then his team mate Fabian Cancelllera beat that by two seconds.

Green Edge's Cameron Meyer, who was going for the Young Jersey rider came through in 10.52 but Woolter Poels did enough to win the jersey by coming home in a time of 11.03.

The battle for the Blue jersey was on. Vincenzo Nibali went first, followed by Roman Kreuziger and then race leader Chris Horner (pictured below) who was five seconds ahead of Kreuziger and six ahead of Nibali.

Nibali finished in a time of 10.56 and two minutes later, Roman Kreuziger came in with a time of 11.23, which put him 52nd on the day and dropped him to third on podium.

Horner could not find the pace he needed and came home in 11.16 to finish 14 seconds behind Nibali and 12 ahead of Kreuziger.






Pictures copyright of Covsupport News Service. Credit CNS/KM