Greg Van Avermaet Wins Paris - Tours

Last updated : 09 October 2011 By Kev Monks

Greg Van Avermaet of BMC won the Paris-Tours race this afternoon.

This year's race, which saw a field of 250 riders including new World Champion Mark Cavendish, was from Voves and went southwest to Tours.

Windy and rainy conditions saw the withdrawal of a good number of riders as groups were strung out along the road.

Philippe Gilbert, who has had a cracking season, was in the lead group with twenty kilometres to go.

As the 230.5km race headed towards Tours, the attacks started to become more frequent with a number of riders including Bodrogi,  Bertogliati and Arnaud Gerard of FDJ who went with 14kms to go, trying to stay away and take the win.

With the peloton seemingly now just intent on finishing the race, Marcato and Van Avermaet passed the FDJ rider who had been joined by his team-mate Delage.

Marco Marcato of Vacansoleil and Greg Van Avermaet of BMC were nineteen seconds clear with two kilometres to go.

As the finish line on the Avenue de Grammont approached, Marcato developed cramp in his leg, leaving the BMC rider to take the victory in a time of 5:21:43 with Marcato second, Klostergaard third and Brit Ian Stannard fourth.