Chris Froome Wins La Vuelta Stage 17

Last updated : 07 September 2011 By Kev Monks

Chris Froome, who rides under a British licence for Team Sky, won the 17th stage of the Vuelta a España this afternoon.

The stage went through the Cantarba region of Spain on a journey of 211kms from Faustino to Peña Cabarga.

With Fabian Cancellera and Marika not starting, Taaramae, Konovalovas, Daniel Lopez and Pardilla all abandoned.

Six riders all tried to break but were pulled back on a stage which saw Montaguti took the first climb of the day at  Portillo de Bustos after 81.6 km.

The first sprint of the day came at Espinosa de los Monteros after 145.7 kms and it was Kaisen who won that before Bonnafond took the second climb at Portillo de Lunada after162.3 kms. The final sprint at Solares brought four points for Katusha rider Paolini.

Bradley Wiggins who had asked his Twitter followers what his tactics for the race should be was amongst the leaders but with ten kilometres to go, Daniel Martin set off alone up the Hors Category Peña Cabarga which finished on a gradient of 16.5%.

Into the final kilometre and a half and Martin was joined by Sorensen, Van Den Broeck, Bruseghin and race leader Juan Jose Cobo who went with  Chris Froome following. Team Sky rider Froome picked his moment and went away up the road.

Cobo was getting roared on by the local support and he found the energy to catch Froome and pass him. However, just before the line, Froome got the inside line and got in front to win the stage in a time of 4hr 52 mins and 39 seconds.

View froome wi...jpg in slide show

Cobo was second with Mollema third and Daniel Martin fourth. Bradley Wiggins finished 12th, Nicholas Roche was 17th. 

Cobo keeps his leaders jersey by thirteen seconds with Chris Froome second and Bradley Wiggins third. Daniel Martin is 14th with his cousin Nicholas Roche in 17th. 

Stage 18 tomorrow is from Sollares to Noja.

Picture copyright of Tour Of Spain/Graham Watson