Britain Name Strong Squad For World Championships

Last updated : 02 September 2011 By Kev Monks

Great Britain have named a strong squad for the World Road Race Championships in Denmark.

The squad for the Mens Elite Race which will take place from September 19-25th, features current La Vuelta leader Bradley Wiggins, Mark Cavendish, Geraint Thomas, Chris Froome, Daniel Lloyd, Jeremy Hunt, Alex Dowsett, David Millar, Peter Kennaugh, Steve Cummings, Ian Stannard and Ben Swift.

Eight of these riders will be selected by David Brailsford to compete in the race.

British Time Trial Champion Bradley Wiggins is also expected to compete in the Time Trial race with either David Millar or Alex Dowsett.

Nicole Cooke's whose father and grandfather are both Coventry born, has been named in the Womens squad with seven from  Lizzie Armitstead, Katie Colclough, Nicole Cooke, Catherine Hare, Nikki Harris,
Sharon Laws, Lucy Martin, Emma Pooley and Emma Trott to take part in the road race.