Vote In The Coventry Walk Of Fame

Last updated : 14 January 2009 By Cov Walk Of Fame

The search has resumed for more names to be added to Coventry's popular Walk of Fame.

Back in May, the names of the first ten people to be honoured, including jet pioneer Frank Whittle and music legends The Specials, were installed on bronze plaques set into Priory Place in the city centre.

Now organisers are asking the public to nominate more people of achievement associated with the city to join them. And they have come up with a list of suggestions for the second 10 (see below).

Peter Walters from CV One, who chairs the Walk of Fame organising group, said, "These are only suggestions and we are now looking for the people of Coventry to add further nominations.

"The aim then will be to draw up a shortlist from which the public can choose a further 10 names to be added to Priory Place in May.

"This is all about celebrating our great city. We had a fantastic response last year and we're expecting the same again, so please let us have your nominations."

Last year's Walk Of Fame winners with Pete Chambers who came up with the idea for the Walk Of Fame

Councillor Tim Sawdon, Cabinet Member, Culture, Leisure and Libraries, said "Last year's Walk of Fame created lots of interest and it was pleasing to see so many people put their nominations forward and engage with the idea, which recognises and celebrates people who have made a lasting contribution to our famous city.

"This list of 18 names has been put forward by the Walk of Fame group to start the ball rolling and it will be interesting to see other potential nominations come forward at this first stage."

People can submit their suggestions by completing and returning the nomination forms in their local papers. They can also register their nomination on Coventry City Council's website at

Nominations close on January 31.

The list of suggested names is:

Neil Back - Rugby Player.

Siegfried Bettmann - Triumph Company founder.

Clarrie Bourton - Footballer.

Tom Cartwright - Cricketer.

Coventry City's 1987 FA Cup Winners.

Delia Derbyshire - Electronic Music Pioneer.

Marlon Devonish - Athlete.

David Duckham - Rugby Player.

Sir Nigel Hawthorne - Actor.

Vince Hill - Singer.

Pearl Hyde - Politician.

Frank Ifield - Singer.

Philip Larkin - Poet.

Tom Mann - Trade Union Pioneer.

Clive Owen - Actor.

Dame Ellen Terry - Actress.

John Thornton - Glass Painter.