City's 87 Cup Team Up For Nomination

Last updated : 23 January 2009 By Cov Walk Of Fame

Coventry City's 1987 FA Cup winning squad are just one of the suggested names in the search for the next ones to be added to the Coventry Walk Of Fame.

An idea by local Music Historian Pete Chambers,
the names of the first ten people to be honoured, including jet pioneer Frank Whittle and music legends The Specials, were installed on bronze plaques set into Priory Place in town last May 16th.

Now organisers are asking the public to nominate more people of achievement associated with the city to join them. And they have come up with a list of suggestions for the second 10 (see below).

Peter Walters from CV One, who chairs the Walk of Fame organising group, said, "These are only suggestions and we are now looking for the people of Coventry to add further nominations.

"The aim then will be to draw up a shortlist from which the public can choose a further 10 names to be added to Priory Place in May.

"This is all about celebrating our great city. We had a fantastic response last year and we're expecting the same again, so please let us have your nominations."

People can submit their suggestions by completing and returning the nomination forms in their local papers. They can also register their nomination on Coventry City Council's website at

or at

Nominations close on Saturday January 31.

The list of suggested names is:

Neil Back - Rugby Player.

Siegfried Bettmann - Triumph Company founder.

Clarrie Bourton - Footballer.

Tom Cartwright - Cricketer.

Coventry City's 1987 FA Cup Winners.

Delia Derbyshire - Electronic Music Pioneer.

Marlon Devonish - Athlete.

David Duckham - Rugby Player.

Sir Nigel Hawthorne - Actor.

Vince Hill - Singer.

Pearl Hyde - Politician.

Frank Ifield - Singer.

Philip Larkin - Poet.

Tom Mann - Trade Union Pioneer.

Clive Owen - Actor.

Dame Ellen Terry - Actress.

John Thornton - Glass Painter.