Sagan Wins La Vuelta 12th Stage

Last updated : 01 September 2011 By Kev Monks

Peter Sagan won the 12th stage of Vuelta a España this afternoon.

Stage twelve from Ponteareas to Pontevedra on the west coast of Spain, was one for the sprinters and the first sprint of the day came with only 8.7kms of this 167.3km stage.

Bauke Mollema took that and it sparked a break by Luis Angel Mate,  Adam Hansen, Ruslan Pidgornyy and Jose Luis Roldan.

During the time, they were up to nine minutes and eight seconds ahead, Vacansoleil's Pidgornyy took both the climbs at the category three Alto de Moscoso and the Alto Ponte Caldeas.

In to the final ten kilometes, Mate and Pidgornyy was still away of a chasing peloton lead by Fabian Cancellera and race leader Bradly Wiggins.

They were caught before the five kilometres to go banner. Leopard Trek took to the front as the field was strung out behind them. Tony Martin brought up John Dagenkolb whilst Cancellera brought up Benatti but on the blind side, Peter Sagan shot up to win in a time of 4hr 3mins and 1 second.

Dagenkolb was second with Bennati third. Nicholas Roche was 27th.

Bradley Wiggins keeps his 7 second lead over Chirs Froome.


Stage 13 is from Sarria - Ponferrada