Kessiakoff Wins La Vuelta Time Trial

Last updated : 29 August 2012 By Kev Monks

Fredrik Kessiakoff (Astana)  won the Vuelta A Espana Time Trial this afternoon.

Stage eleven was a 39.4 kilometre time trial from Cambados to Pontevedra and included a third category climb.

Team Sky's Richie Porte set the early time to beat, finishing the course in a time of 55.53, just ahead of Orica GreenEdge's Cameron Meyer and 22 seconds than world time trial champion Tony Martin.

That was until Fredrik Kessiakoff (Astana) finished in a time of 52:36.

Alberto Contador was the fastest through the first time check, some four seconds ahead of Chris Froome and 39 seconds quicker than race leader Joaquin Rodriquez.

Contador came in at 52.53, Chris Froome came in thirty nine seconds down on Kessiakoff and Joaquin Rodriquez finished in 53.53.

Rodriquez now leads the race by a second from Contador and 16 seconds from Chris Froome.