Boom Wins Ster ZLM Toer

Lars Boom won the 27th edition of the Ster ZLM Toer in Holland on a day when Pim Ligthart took the final stage in Boxtel.

Lars Boom went into the final 176.2km stage from Gerwen to Boxtel and in the leaders shirt and was quite happy to let  Pim Ligthart (VCD), Yves Lampaert (TSV), Sven Vandousselaere (TSV), Steven Lammertink (CJP), Arno van der Zwet (KOG) take a lead.

It was a lead that had stretched to 4.05 before Lammertink won the opening sprint at Elsendorp.

Into Boxtel for the first time and Yves Lampaert took the points for the second sprint.

The tempo from the peloton picked up and the gap to the leaders dropped with their lead now 2.05 for the final nineteen kilometres around Boxtel.

Despite Lammertink being shed in the closing stages, the five riders survived into the final kilometre and Pim Ligthart took the win beating Sven Vandousselaere (TSV), Brian van Goethem (MET),  Arno van der Zwet, .André Greipel (LTB), Kenny van Hummel (VCD), Marcel Kittel (ARG) and Mark Cavendish (OPQS)

Lars Boom finished safely to win the race overall as did Andre Greipel who won the points jersey. 

His eighth placing on the final stage meant that Mark Cavendish was on the podium finishing third.