Jets Award Evening

Last updated : 19 September 2011 By James O'Grady

Coventry Jets put what was a dismal Premier division season, behind
them as they held annual End of Season Evening at Rileys in Coventry

The 2011 season was, due several factors, the worst season
in Jets history, failing for the first time to make it through to the
post season play-offs.

Despite their poor showing in 2011 there were plenty positives to take forward to next season.

As well as the player awards for the season there were two inductees
in the Jets Hall of Fame. The first was British American football
legend Paul Newey and Jeremey Simms. Newey, a fearsome linebacker,played for both Coventry Jaguars and Coventry Jets as well as international level for the Great Britain Lions. The other inductee
was the outstanding footballer Jeremy Simms, who was a top draw wide
receiver and a more than capable defensive back he too was capped for Great Britain.

Retiring Head Coach Gerry McManus was presented with a silver tankard for his years of service to the Jets.

The awards were:
Rookie of the Year - Sam Hyde
Offence MVP - Dominic Olney
Defence MVP - Jake Skelton
Team MVP - Dominic Olney
Offensive Lineman - Chris Sear
Defensive Lineman - Matt Ball
Players Player - Adam Biggs
Coaches Player - Jake Skelton

Offensive Player of the Year: Joe Brammer
Defensive Player of the Year: TJ Chieza
Special Teams player: Alex Preece
Most Improved Player: Mark Nicholson
Lineman of the Year: Krishan Sharma
Players Player: Elliot Strong
Youth Offensive player - Tom Clancy
Youth Defensive player - Jordan Sinclair

Hall of Fame Inductees
Paul Newey
Jeremy Simms