City 87 FA Cup Winners On The Coventry Walk Of Fame

The Coventry City 1987 FA Cup Winning team were today inducted onto the Coventry Walk Of Fame.

The Walk Of Fame is an idea by Pete Chambers, who was present at the ceremony at Priory Place in Coventry this lunchtime on what is being termed as "Coventry Day" a day where we not only celebrate the winning of the 1987 FA Cup Final but everything good about our world famous and historic City.

Now in its second year and something which we hope will continue if funding can be found, today's award ceremony was live on BBC Coventry & Warwickshire and attended by around fifty members of the public plus a number of media.

Coventry City Councillor Ken Taylor gave a civic welcome before City's 1987 Coach John Sillett gave a speech. John said it was a day that he will never tire of and one he will never forget.

See the video by clicking on

There then followed speeches by Hereward Lawford the step grandson of Sir Alfred Herbert, Birthday girl Hazel O'Connor and Don Lee from the Phillip Larkin Society.

This year, there were ten winners in the Coventry City 1987 FA Cup winning team and runner Marlon Devonish from the world of sport; Music's Vince Hill, Hazel O'Connor and The Selecter, From industry Sir Alfred Herbrt, From Writing Phillip Larkin and From the screen Nigel Hawthorne,Billie Whitelaw and Clive Owen.

The latter two were unable to attend but everyone else either attended or was represented by a family member.

The plaques which are set into the floor were then unveiled by City's Steve Ogrizovic, Lloyd McGrath, Dave Bennett, Trevor Peake, Micky Gynn and Marlon Devonish.

See the video

Every recipient also received a solid glass star. Hazel O'Connor was quite emotional when receiving her award whilst Neol Davies of The Selector gave an impassioned speech as he, Charley Anderson and Gaps collected their award at what was a memorable occasion


The Selecter Trio

Vince Hill

Pictures copyright of Covsupport News Service/Steve Barnett